Do just this ONE thing and change your life in the New Year––seriously!

Business Man Depressed StockImagesThe most useless words in the English language:

“I’ll do it tomorrow.”

Haven’t you said this when what you really meant was it will never get done?

There are only a few days left in this year. The New Year is really just a mileage marker on the calendar, but it does represent a good time to stop, consider what you’ve been doing and do some meaningful planning for the next year.

If there’s one thing you could do that would most dramatically impact your live over the next year, it would be to eradicate the words and thought that anything should wait until tomorrow.

I know––there’s only 24 hours in a day and some things have to go unfinished. That’s not what I’m talking about. I’m talking about that conscious decision to put off until tomorrow what you absolutely could have, and should have done today.

Here are some simple steps you can take:

• If it takes you longer to think about when you can do it than it takes to do it––do it––now!

• Do little things quickly and get them out of the way.

• If you legitimately don’t have time to do something, schedule a time to do it and put in your planner––now.

• If you’re tackling a big project, break it down into actionable steps and schedule for those.

• If it’s uncomfortable––do it now. These things only get worse with time.

• Schedule some time every week to do the things you didn’t have time for.

That last one is really important. Leave yourself a little “clean-up” time to handle some of the items that might not otherwise make it to your planner. Keep a quick access file of these things so you can just open it up and get to it.

There are dozens––scratch that––hundreds of systems and methods to help you manage your time and get the important things done. For my money, Stephen Covey’s “First Things First” is still the class of the genre.

I’m not here to complicate the issue with more suggestions, but one simple procedure I’ve found helps me a lot and I’m glad to share.

As focused as we are on electronic communication these days, I’ve found the best way for me to keep from putting something off indefinitely is just to send it to my email inbox. I send tasks, memos, articles, research, reminders––all to the inbox.

Once a week I clear my inbox completely. Items either go on my schedule, to a holding file I can access from time to time or––to the trash. Sometimes an item that seemed important at the time loses it’s significance by the time I get to it…

No worries––Delete––No clutter.

I’m old enough now to appreciate the grave reality that days turn into weeks, weeks into months and months into years. What seems like an eternity looking forward feels like the blink of an eye looking back, and lost time is lost––forever.

I learned my lesson long ago. “I’ll do it tomorrow” are the most useless words in the language. The most regrettable are:

“I wish I’d done that when I had the chance.”


You really want to improve your life this year?

Become a leader––or become a better leader!

Leaders earn more. Leaders enjoy more opportunities. Leaders earn the trust and respect of the people they serve.

Don’t wait. Enroll in this FREE course today:

8 Strategies Online Program Horizontal Banner

SL and AL Free Banner 600

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

